Information & Updates

You are here:
Home > Information & Updates
Print Page
Search Site

SCH Dr. Dayo Adeyanju bags an Award of Excellence

By: Kehinde Adeleye Date: 07-10-2016

In recognition of his sterling contributions to the qualitative healthcare delivery in Ondo State particularly, maternal health, Ondo State Commissioner for Health, Dr. Dayo Adeyanju has received the Distinguished Service Award of Society for Obstetrics and Gynecology of Nigeria, SOGON

Adeyanju received the Award at the Dinner and Award Night to round up the 50th Annual General Meeting and Scientific Conference of the Society held at the International Event Center, The DOME with many dignitaries in attendance.

Other Awardees at the elaborate ceremony are: The Dr. Majekodunmi Young Scientific Award, Dr O. Sowemimo Jubilee Awards Profs Joe Oloruntoba and Okuwatoyin Fakeye.

Presenting the Award to Dr. Dayo Adeyanju, National President of Nigeria Society of Obstetrics and Gynecology of Nigeria, Prof Brian Adinma said Dr. Adeyanju was the brain behind the success of maternal health care of Dr. Olusegun Mimiko led administration particularly the Mother and Child Hospital.

Prof Brain Adinma said Dr. Adeyanju was chosen for the honor following his outstanding performance in promoting the status of Maternal Care as a commissioner under the leadership of Governor Olusegun Mimiko.

He said the Awardee is a Community Physician by training but an Obstetrics and Gynecologist in action whose Governor Mimiko has identified to help actualized his vision and doesn't failed in that area.

The Society President said the Award Was a collective decision of the society in recognition of the projects that epitomizes best practices of maternal health care delivery of the Ondo State Government and to serve as catalyst for him to do more and for others to learn more from the trait of the Awardee and his Governor, Dr. Olusegun Mimiko.

He said apart from humidity that Dr. Adeyanju exhibited all virtues and indices that benchmark best practices as he thanked God for Governor Mimiko who identified the Awardee and give him opportunity to exhibit his talents.

In his remarks at the ceremony, Governor Olusegun Mimiko said the Award to Dr. Dayo Adeyanju is a well-deserved one because he said all the successes recorded in the area of qualitative health care services couldn't had happened if not for the ingenuity of Adeyanju and the commitment of his health workers in the State.

Represented by his Chief of Staff, Dr. Kola Ademujimi, Mimiko described his health Commissioner as workaholic, dedicated, committed, diligent and reliable as he thanked SOGON for recognizing him for the Award.

He said the has always exhibited hard work and Dillinger in his various assignments as Special Assistant on health and later Commissioner for Health in the last Seven and half years.

In their separate remarks, Chairman Hospital Management Board, Special Assistant to Governor on Maternal Health, Executive Secretary, State Primary Health Care Development Board, and Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Health, Dr. Niran Okunrinboye, Mrs. Funmilola Oluwadare, Dr. Olugbenga Osunmakinwa and Dr. Taye Oni said Dr. Dayo Adeyanju deserved the Award and eulogized Dr Adeyanju as a selfless leader who has positively impacted on humanity.

Responding, Dr. Dayo Adeyanju thanked the society for the honor and attributed the success to God and Governor Olusegun Mimiko who gave him opportunity to serve with assurances that, such gesture would only spur him do more for humanity.


Health News

Ondo State NSHIP Job Opportunity.
Ondo State government mark WorldPolioDay with a walk.
SCH Dr. Dayo Adeyanju bags an Award of Excellence
CSIS set to strengthen health relationship with Ondo State.
Sensitization Meeting on Control of Lassa Fever

Health Education & Resources

Diseases & Conditions
Prevention & Treatments
Special Needs
Recent Breakthroughs
Related Publications

Institutional Partners


Social Media Networks

Ford Foundation Society For Family Health The World Bank Group Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation World Health Organization Department for International Development